Shell Tools X64 ??
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

KevinC

Portugal
2 Posts

Posted - 10 December 2008 :  19:16:10  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I would like to begin with how much I love FontLoader. I simply cannot live without it. I just spent the day trying to figure out how I can add Load and Unload to the default Windows context menu handler for fonts because I have x64 Vista.

If I had known that Shell Tools did not work with X64 Vista I would not have upgraded. I am a designer and a minimalist computer guy. I like things simple and using very little resources. Photoshop and Illustrator run very fast when they donīt have to load hundreds of fonts from past projects. Each project I do has a Resource folder with the fonts for the project located in this folder. In the past when I am working on the project I just right click and Load Fonts. Now I have to drag and drop fonts into the Windblows Fonts folder then remember to delete them when I am done. For me this is unacceptable.

What needs to be done to make Font Loader work in Vista 64 bit?
I will help in anyways I can just tell me. I need Font Loader.

Ahto/Moon Software
Developer

Estonia
1137 Posts

Posted - 10 December 2008 :  20:35:14  Show Profile  Visit Ahto/Moon Software's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Hi Kevin! Currently there is no 64-bit version as my development tool (Delphi) does not support compiling 64-bit programs. This will probably change in next 1 or 2 generations of Delphi.

What you can do as workaround is use 32-bit Windows Explorer. It is included in 64-bit Windows versions. It will load your 32-bit shell extensions (but not 64-bit ones). You can make special shortcut to start 32-bit Explorer.

See this Microsoft paper for background and how to do it:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/895561
Go to Top of Page

KevinC

Portugal
2 Posts

Posted - 11 December 2008 :  14:30:30  Show Profile  Reply with Quote